INTERNATIONAL UNIVERSITY OF KYRGYZSTAN (IUK) was created in March 1993 by a special Decree of the President of the Kyrgyz Republic № 74 that gave the University a status of international higher education institution.

In February 2003 by a special Decree of the Government of the Kyrgyz Republic the university was converted into an academic consortium “International University of Kyrgyzstan”.

IUK is located in Bishkek – the capital of the Kyrgyz Republic. The building of the IUK is one of the most beautiful buildings of Bishkek and located right in the center of the city, opposite the cityhall.

Current structure of the university includes four basic campuses located in Bishkek and other regions of the Kyrgyz Republic.

Each campus consists of several institutes and centers conducting educational and scientific work and specializing in a particular area of science.

  • Economics and finance
  • Law
  • Information technologies
  • Language studies
  • Business and management
  • Medicine
  • Psychology
  • Engineering

All programs delivered within IUK academic consortium are conducted in line with European educational standards. Particularly IUK utilizes European Credit Transformation System, which allows IUK students to transfer from second and third year of study to the universities of USA and Europe.

IUK is a member of the World Association of Universities and Colleges (WAUC), Association of European Universities (EUA), European Association for International Education (EAIE), Global Alliance for Transnational Education (GATE), Federation of the Universities of the Islamic World (FUIW), International Association of Universities under UNESCO.

IUK posses highly qualified and professional staff and faculty. Major part of IUK faculty members has gone through training at San Francisco State University (USA), University of Michigan (USA), the University of Karlstad (Sweden), University of Hanover (Germany), Arnhem Business School (the Netherlands), the University of Laplandia (Finland), Tohoku University (Japan), Central European University (Hungary), University of Bern, (Switzerland), Salem International University (USA) and other leading world academic institutions.

INTERNATIONAL SCHOOL OF MEDICINE  (ISM) –  is a structural unit of IUK academic consortium, which was created to train medical specialists for foreign countries, conduct medical research in medicine of the mountains and provide high quality medical services to the population of Central Asia.

ISM was established on a special resolution of the Kyrgyz Government. The Kyrgyz Government’s resolution №60 dated February 5, 2004 incorporated ISM into IUK, which is one of Kyrgyzstan’s top universities highly rated for its substantial experience in training of foreign citizens.

This higher educational institution is designed to ensure maximum opportunities for those who want to become doctors and work in any place of the globe.